Carrot and Chocolate Chip Bread

Image

The most important and challenging meal of the day in my house is breakfast. What with waking up early, my early morning “cooking for lunch”, my workout, yoga and everything else, it’s a jamboree of all things ugly. I heave a sigh of relief only when I enter the university campus. It’s a completely different world for me till 5 pm. My world. Yes, yes, I consider my work the most supreme, the most undemanding and most peaceful.

Image

So, back to breakfast hassles. I generally do not “make” stuff for breakfast; its just assembly. The excuse that I can really give for making this carrot and chocolate chip bread is breakfast boredom, and I having almost 2 kilos of carrots lying in my fridge. Its quite a simple recipe, and I actually had fun making it. I would have used baking powder or yeast, but somehow I wanted to keep it simple and nutritious. I used finger millet flour in it and this is the best tasting bread I have had or made in a long time.

To make the loaf, you’ll need:

  1. 2/3 cup vegetable oil
  2. 2  eggs
  3. 1 cup dark brown sugar
  4. 1 cup all purpose flour
  5. ½ cup finger millet flour
  6. ½ tspn salt
  7. 1 heaped tspn ground cinnamon
  8. 2 cups grated carrot
  9. ½ cup dark or milk chocolate chips

You could use any oil that is translucent and odour-less. And you could use whole wheat flour for the bread, but if you do, be prepared for heavy bread. I used finger millet because I wanted that extra fibre and a sense of contentment that we are eating something healthy in the morning. Grate your carrot into reasonably significant strips, as I did. This ensures that chewy texture of the bread. 2 cups of grated carrot is about 2 medium-sized carrots. Please peel them; they are root vegetables.

–          Preheat the oven to 180 C

–          Whisk your eggs and oil in a bowl and keep aside.

–          In another large mixing bowl, add in all the dry ingredients and mix until they combine

–          Into this, pour in the oil-egg mixture. Mix well again till everything combines and forms quite a semi-solid dough. Remember, this is carrot bread and not carrot cake. So it is a good sign if the mixture at this stage is lumpy (semi-solid).

–          Fold in the grated carrot and chocolate chips.

–          Into a lined loaf tin, add your semi-solid mixture and bake for 40-50 min, till a skewer/knife comes clean. 

Leave a Reply

