Saffron and Lemon Rice with a Cauliflower and Herb curry

Image

So, my Mum thinks I am crazy to have a food blog. Taking pictures of food and attempting to get the perfect picture (in my sense) is completely psychotic, she says. Well, I disagree, of course. When I have time, I make interesting stuff. And when I make interesting stuff, I take pictures. That’s how my life is. And I am not ashamed.

We eat very less rice, for two reasons: first, it’s routine; second, it’s very high carbohydrates for our lifestyle. But yes, yes, inspite of cutting down on carbohydrates our weights do not become a downward graph. We are extremely consistent. Nevertheless, I made rice this Sunday, since I was attempting a French classic – Ratatouille. The perfect accompaniment to this has been, and will always be rice. I had just cauliflower left in my fridge after a whole week of cooking. So I would not want to call what I made a Ratatouille, although the essence is all the same.

Image

I use Saffron very occasionally. I like the richness of it, but at the same time, I find it too precious to use. And I don’t use Basmati that often either. I like the fluffiness in the rice I use in the normal course. You could use Basmati if you like.

  1. 2 cups of Rice (washed and strained)
  2. 2 cups of boiling water
  3. 1 tspn of Saffron
  4. 1 lemon
  5. 1 medium sized cauliflower, cut into florets
  6. 2 medium sized red onions, quartered
  7. 3 medium sized juicy tomatoes, quartered
  8. 4-5 garlic cloves
  9. 1 stick of cinnamon

10. Stalks and leaves of a bunch of parsley

11. A bunch of fresh basil

12. Cayenne pepper

13. 2 tspns Oil

14. Salt 

 

–          Use the first four ingredients for making the saffron and lemon rice, thus: in a large dish with boiling water, add the washed and strained rice. Add the saffron strands and half a lemon’s juice and the half lemon itself (yes, place it in the rice). The flavour of the lemon will gradually permeate into the rice and so will the saffron. I do this particular thing because I find the saffron too strong and rich and that it overpowers the lemoniness. Whereas if I do place the half lemon in the rice, the flavours are in complete balance. The rice will take around 14-15 min to cook completely.

–          For the curry, in another heavy bottomed dish, add the onions and tomatoes, cook them, blend them, and make a sauce.

–          In the same pan, heat the oil (vegetable oil), add garlic  and the cinnamon stick, cook for a min and add in the sauce. Cook for 3-4 min, till it start boiling, and add the cauliflower florets. Cook for another 4 min and add salt and the pepper. Cook for some more time, till they are almost fork tender. By this time the rice would have been done, and the sauce would have become richer.

–          Meanwhile, finely chop your herbs. After the curry is done, take it off the heat

–          Add in the chopped herbs and combine. 

Leave a Reply

