Low-fat Coleslaw

Image

 

It seems like it’s been a long time I’ve updated my blog. I don’t have any excuses; But I would just like to say that I missed updating it. When I make a salad, I avoid any dressing. It’s just olive oil and lemon juice, or sometimes just olive oil. The nutty flavor is more than enough for me to get on with eating my salad. Its surprising how I actually avoid dressings, given that my staple diet for nights consists generally soups and/or salads.

I like coleslaw, but I hate the mayonnaise in it. So I discovered a complete substitute for mayo – Yogurt. Even if it is the thick Greek yogurt, it is of lower fat by atleast 80 percent, and that motivates me more than anything to use it in place of mayo in coleslaw. So, when I use vegetables like radish and fruits like apple, it has to be LOW FAT!

  1. ½ a medium sized cabbage, shredded
  2. 1 apples, sliced into thin strips
  3. 1 onion, sliced into thin strips
  4. ½ to 1 red radish grated
  5. Juice of 1 lemon
  6. 1 tbspn honey
  7. 1 cup (120 ml)  thick yogurt
  8. Salt
  9. Pepper
  10. Finely chopped Dill leaves for garnish or more

 

–          Make your dressing first by mixing the yogurt, lemon juice, honey and salt in a jug or bowl.

–          Add in all your sliced and shredded vegetables and mix in with the dressing until everything is coated evenly. Add in the pepper and combine

–          Garnish with Dill leaves

Leave a Reply

