Low-fat Whole-wheat Flatbread Pizza

ImageImage

And I made pizza.

I am not exactly on a perpetual diet, but I do like the low-fat, equally tasty versions of what I make or like to eat. I made pizza the other day, and I reiterated to myself and the family (of two) that baking is fun; super fun. Marriage may have not really taught me to up my patience, but I have definitely learnt to cook and be happy in the kitchen. And the blog and you readers do keep me company. The husband was unbelievably awed by this pizza and he kept telling me that we should not order in pizza anymore. It was good; both his compliments and the pizza.

This is quite an easy recipe; infact, a good one for bakers who are beginning their journey. Pizza making taught me so much about measurements, time and temperature since I first made it some years back (and it turned out terrible the first time).

Image

Lot of recipes I came across used quite a huge amount of all-purpose flour, but trust me when I say that all purpose flour is used in pizza making only to provide a certain lightness to the dough, nothing more. So, you can actually vary the amount of this flour in your pizza dough. I used 2 parts whole wheat flour to a part of all-purpose. But its your choice.

  1. 2 cups Whole wheat flour
  2. 1 cup All-purpose flour
  3. 1 tbspn Extra virgin olive oil
  4. 1 tspn instant yeast
  5. ¼ cup warm water + more for the dough (almost 2-3 cups in total)
  6. Salt
  7. Assortment of vegetables

 

–          Dissolve the yeast in ¼ cup of warm water, and activate it. This will take about 5 min.

–          Meanwhile, mix your flours, add in salt and combine.

–          Add in the warm water yeast mixture to the flour mixture and combine. Add in warm water and make the dough.

–          Place the dough in a bowl and proof the dough for 20 -30 min.

–          Meanwhile preheat your oven to 220C and start bashing in the dough to remake your ball of dough necessary for making the flatbread pizza.

–          Take about a fist full size of dough (the ball should be the size of a fist and not something that fits into your fist), flour your surface and start rolling to make a circle or a square or any shape you desire.

–          Place the circle on to a baking tray/pizza stone. (if you are using a baking tray, grease and line it)

–          Bake for 12-15 min, till the crust is almost golden and the bottom is hard and slightly brown.

–          At this stage the pizza is only pre-done. It has to bake for 10 more min with the vegetables.

–          I made 2 varieties of it – aubergine and onion; and tomato and onion.

–          Take out the pizza, reduce the temp of the oven to 200C and oil the surface of the pizza with extra virgin olive oil. Add your chopped vegetables to top it off. Use some herbs if you like. Lightly grease the vegetables with some more olive oil and send it back into the oven to bake for another 10 min. Slice it up and serve warm.

 

Leave a Reply

