Broccoli Protein Salad

Image

I am back after quite a long holiday in my standards. Fifteen days is the maximum I have been away from my dog and my home and more importantly my kitchen. It was my brother’s wedding, and a huge part of our family and extended family travelled to Lucknow. What I experienced there in three words is: Joy, Beauty and Warmth. It was just unforgettable.

I could not post this particular salad for some time because I was busy with so many things related to the wedding. This is quite high in proteins because I used both bean sprouts and egg-white in it. But it is also moderately high in iron. The dressing for the salad is kind of atypical, given that I used what I could find on my rack.

 Image

  1. 1 head of broccoli cut into florets
  2. 100 gm of bean sprouts
  3. 2 eggs, separated (1 per person)
  4. 1 tspn tobasco sauce
  5. 1 tspn of white wine vinegar
  6. 1 tspn of balsamic vinegar
  7. Salt and fresh ground pepper
  8. Extra virgin olive oil

 

–          In a heavy bottom dish, add a teaspoon of olive oil and let it heat up well. Add in the broccoli florets and fry for just about 30 sec. (Make sure your dish is a bit oversized, so that the vegetable can move around freely.)

–          Take them out and now add in the sprouts, do the same frying for 30 sec and take them off the heat

–          In a bowl whisk the egg-whites with a pinch of salt and pour the mixture into a dry pan. After about 20 sec, the omelet will be done, and you can carefully take it off the heat.

–          Roll the omelet and cut into strips. Add them to the vegetables that you kept aside.

–          Make the dressing with the tobasco sauce, white wine vinegar and balsamic vinegar. Add a bit of olive oil if necessary.

–          Pour over the vegetable-eggwhite mixture, and combine gently. Adjust seasoning, and eat warm.

4 thoughts on “Broccoli Protein Salad

Leave a Reply

