Carrot and Barley Roti

Image

Image

I am not exaggerating when I say that my husband helps me in the kitchen. Sometimes. And I am not exaggerating either, when I say I do not particularly like him loitering around in the kitchen. I would rather he sit right outside the kitchen and keep chatting with me, than helping. Kitchen is like my “department”, and I do not wish to see other people in it. It is that simple.

What he does do, is give me ideas on what to cook, and where to eat if I am totally vexed with cooking and cleaning. He is also rather passionate about me clicking pictures of food.

Image

After a through detox yesterday, we were in a mood to eat something more filling than just a salad. I made these rotis today morning. They are light, yet full of fiber and flavor.

  1. 2 medium sized carrots, shredded
  2. 1 cup barley flour
  3. 1 cup whole wheat flour
  4. 1 ½ tspns cumin seeds
  5. 1 tbspn red chilli flakes
  6. Salt
  7. Water (as needed)

–          In a mixing bowl, add all the ingredients, including salt, except water and start combining them by hand.

–          You will notice that the carrot gives out the slightest amount of moisture. So be careful about how much water you add.

–          The dough should be firm, yet soft. You should be able to make balls that you can roll out into discs of ½ cm thickness. Roll them out with the help of a little whole wheat flour. (They may not be perfect circles, as barley flour is quite coarse, and added to that are the shredded carrots)

–          Toast them with a tspn of oil each time on each side, and serve hot with salsa or curry or just yogurt.

 

Leave a Reply

