Carrot and Bean Salad with Light Tomato and Parsley Dressing

Image

If I were to start talking about how I got addicted to food, it would take another day for me to finish writing. I will just say that my food addiction comes in handy when I really want to eat, and not count my calories. But I can proudly say that I have learnt to make food that I can enjoy and is at the same time low in carbohydrates, thanks to whatever little fitness conscience I have.

ImageImage

Did you actually understand what I just said above? Or was it just a paragraph of random thoughts? Both; I know!

Coming to this salad, this is a very simple, straightforward salad, drawing inspiration from some robust Italian flavors.

  1. 4 medium carrots – chopped length-wise and halved
  2. 200 gm French beans, washed, cleaned and heads removed
  3. 5 to 8 medium sized tomatoes – roughly chopped
  4. A handful of sprouts
  5. A bunch of fresh parsley
  6. 1 clove of garlic
  7. 1 tbspn balsamic vinegar
  8. Extra virgin olive oil
  9. Salt
  10. Fresh ground black pepper

–          Preheat the oven to 220 C

–          With a tbspn of olive oil, grease the carrots and beans in the baking tray itself, and place them to grill in the oven

–          Grill till they are charred or till you feel it is right

–          I placed even the sprouts in the oven for the last 7 minutes

–          In a processor, place tomatoes, parsley and garlic, and process till the mixture is a semi liquid. Add the balsamic and drizzle oil, add salt, and start whizzing again till the mixture become an almost fine liquid, appropriate for dressing

–          After the vegetables are grilled, dress them with this, and adjust seasoning. Serve warm

Leave a Reply

