Pistachio Roti with Ripe Banana Chutney

Image

Do you also experience these afternoon pangs when you feel like munching something that is a super favorite? Like chocolate chip cookies, or samosas, or something that is utterly delicious?

I admit that I am a victim to this feeling on most afternoons.

One such afternoon this week, I happened to be at home, and I made this family favorite. This ripe banana chutney is a favorite of my family than my husband’s. Infact, they were introduced to this by me, only after our marriage.

I use ripe bananas anyway. But I often leave them to go black on the outside to go extra sweet and creamy. And we generally get low-fat toned cow’s milk. So I reduce the milk till it is half when I make this.

Image

 

Image

 

For the roti, it is quite a straightforward process: Have a ½ a cup of roasted pistachio powder ready in hand. Mix that with 2 ½ cups of whole wheat flour; make this mixture into a dough with the help of some water (a cup or less will generally do). I do not use any fat here, but you could if you feel it will help in making the dough.

Make even sized balls and then roll the dough into discs that are not more than half a centimeter thick. With some olive oil (even light oil will work), toast it in a griddle till light golden.

 

  1. 3 ripe bananas
  2. 3 cups of reduced milk
  3. 1 tbspn condensed milk (sweetened)
  4. 2 tbspns sugar
  5. 1 tspn cardamom powder

 

–          Mash the bananas into almost pulpy, leaving some good chunks, into a mixing bowl and add the sugar.

–          Add reduced milk, condensed milk and cardamom powder and combine till everything is mixed perfectly. Do not over mix, because you want the consistency to remain creamy yet chunky. Serve with hot rotis or puris.

2 thoughts on “Pistachio Roti with Ripe Banana Chutney

Leave a Reply

