Pumpkin + Bok-choy Lunch Bowl

pumpkin bokchoy bowl 4 pumpkin bokchoy bowl 2 pumpkin bokchoy bowl 3

One of my readers appreciated the simplicity in my dishes/recipes. I am deeply moved and I love receiving comments of appreciation, is all I can say. Thankyou so much! Coming to today, I cannot tell you how much I love having comfort meals. This is just that. Pumpkin is filling, bok-choy is hardy, and the other vegetables are all a matter of choice. Lovely and simple. Yet again.

Surprisingly, this is just about enough for lunch.

pumpkin bokchoy bowl 5 pumpkin bokchoy bowl pumpkin bokchoy bowl 6

 

I used julienned carrots in this, but you can very well replace them with noodles if you like. Also, I used home-made stock, but you could just use store-bought organic stock cubes or stock, if you prefer. But preferably use home-made. (I made mine by boiling cabbage cores, onions, 1 carrot and leeks, and a few spices. I make ice cubes of them. They keep well for a month in my experience.)

  1. 300 g pumpkin, washed, peeled and de-seeded
  2. 200 g bok-choy (Chinese cabbage)
  3. ½ a huge leek or 1 medium
  4. 4 carrots
  5. 1 heaping tspn cumin seeds
  6. 1 tspn fennel seeds
  7. 2 cloves garlic, peeled
  8. ½ inch ginger grated
  9. 1 blood orange/mandarin/lemon/lime
  10. 1 organic vegetable stock cube (or home-made, like mine)
  11. Light olive oil
  12. Salt and fresh ground black pepper
  13. Few coriander leaves and stalks

 

–          Chop up the leeks, pumpkin and bok-choy. And finely chop ginger and garlic.

–          Roast the chopped pumpkin in the oven for 20-15 min until lightly charred. I roasted it at 220C.

–          In a large heavy pan, heat a tspn of oil and toss in the cumin and fennel seeds. Stir for a bit and add leeks, garlic and ginger. Saute for a min, and toss in the bok choy. It will wilt in about 20-30 seconds.

–          Add in the stock cube and water. I added about a ltr and a half for 2 people. Let the whole pot come up to a boil, and let it boil for a minute. Adjust seasoning.

–          Meanwhile, julienne the carrots or prepare the noodles. Add the noodles at the appropriate time, or if you are using carrots like me, then switch off the pot after the required minute, and then add the carrots.

–          Arrange your bowl by adding stock, the vegetables, roasted pumpkin, and a few coriander leaves and stalks.  Serve hot or warm., with a generous squeeze of orange/lemon/lime juice.

 

4 thoughts on “Pumpkin + Bok-choy Lunch Bowl

Leave a Reply

